Seuss the Father (of Children’s Literature)

So why did he decide to write for children?

When asked this question Giesel usually says this: “I would like to say I went into children’s book writing because of my great understanding of children. I went in because I wasn’t excluded by my Standard Oil Contract.” This may be true. But other truths may support an alternate answer.

Mr. Giesel wrote his first book the same year that Helen received news from the doctor that she could not have children. Maybe it’s internal curiosity that drove Giesel to write children’s books in hopes of satisfying the void of not having one himself. Perhaps this is also what motivated him to invent an Infantograph. This revealed what a couple’s baby would look like by taking a picture of the said couple and fusing their features onto an infant’s face.

People repeatedly asked how Giesel could write such great children’s literature while being childless. His response…

“You make ’em, I’ll amuse ’em.”

Leave a comment